The Right Place, Inc. has appointed five new board members to the 2020 Right Place board of directors and accepted the retirement of six others. In addition, the board elected the following officers:

Officers for 2020:

  • 2019-2020 Chair: Sean P. Welsh, Regional President, Western MI, PNC Bank
  • Vice Chair: Mitch Joppich, Grand Rapids Managing Partner, PwC
  • Treasurer: Tina Freese Decker, President & CEO, Spectrum Health

Executive Committee Appointments:

  • Steve Downing, President & CEO, Gentex Corporation
  • Renee Tabben, Director, Merrill Lynch Wealth Management Market Executive and Market President, Bank of America
  • Garrick Rochow, Senior Vice President—Operations, Consumers Energy

New Appointments to the 2020 board of directors:

  • Stephen Abbott, Executive Director, Middle Market | Commercial Banking, JPMorgan Chase
  • Dennis Eidson, President & CEO, SpartanNash
  • Dr. Hyung Kim, President, Mercy Health Saint Mary’s
  • Dr. Philomena Mantella, President, Grand Valley State University
  • Anthony Gagliardo, Lake County Regional Representative

Retiring from the board of directors:

  • Dan Gaydou, former President, Midwest Region, MLive Media Group, LLC
  • Thomas Haas, President Emeritus, Grand Valley State University
  • Richard Haslinger, former President, Chase – West Michigan
  • David Staples, former President & CEO, SpartanNash
  • Mark Stiers, President & COO, Power & Industrial, DTE Energy
  • Rob Spohr, Montcalm Community College

To view the complete list of The Right Place board of directors, please visit