The Right Place, Inc. has appointed five new board members to the 2021 Right Place board of directors and accepted the retirement of five others. In addition, the board elected the following officers:

Officers for 2021:

  • Chair: Sean P. Welsh, Regional President, Western MI, PNC Bank
  • Vice Chair: Tina Freese Decker, President & CEO, Spectrum Health
  • Treasurer: Dr. Bill Pink, President, Grand Rapids Community College

Executive Committee Appointments:

  • Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., Executive Vice President for Health Sciences, Michigan State University
  • Dr. Philomena Mantella, President, Grand Valley State University
  • Jim Teets, President & CEO, ADAC Automotive

New Appointments to the 2021 board of directors:

  • Luke Cherveny, Grand Rapids Office Managing Partner, Tax Reporting & Strategy Partner, PwC
  • Jeffrey Connolly, Senior Vice President & President, West Michigan & Upper Peninsula, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
  • Patrick Greene, President, Cascade Die Cast Group Inc. (The Right Place/The Center-West Manufacturers Council representative, two-year term)
  • Tony Sarsam, President & CEO, SpartanNash
  • Darrel Schmalzel, City Manager, City of Walker (Suburban representative, two-year term)

Retiring from the board of directors:

  • Dave Beemer, Chief Operating Officer, Terryberry (The Right Place/The Center-West Manufacturers Council representative, two-year term)
  • Dennis Eidson, Chairman, SpartanNash
  • Anthony Gagliardo, Building/Code Official, Lake County Building Department
  • Mitch Joppich, Managing Partner, PwC
  • Greg Madura, Supervisor, Alpine Township (Suburban representative, two-year term)

To view the complete list of The Right Place board of directors, please visit