The Right Place, Inc. recently appointed five new board members to the 2017 Right Place board of directors, replacing eight retiring board members.

Reappointed as Officers

  • 2017-2018 Chair:  Brian Walker, President and CEO, Herman Miller
  • Vice Chair:  Sean Welsh, Regional President, PNC Financial Services
  • Treasurer:  Mitch Joppich, Grand Rapids Managing Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Executive Committee Appointments 

  • Thomas Haas, President, Grand Valley State University
  • Sandra Jelinski, President/CEO, Lake Michigan Credit Union
  • Bill Payne, Vice Chair, Amway Corp.

New Appointments to the 2016 board of directors: 

  • Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., MD MHS, Dean, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Matt Becker, Managing Partner, BDO USA, LLP
  • Susan Hatto, Dean of Community and Workforce Education, Montcalm Community College (Montcalm Economic Alliance representative, one-year term)
  • Bill Manns, President, Mercy Health St. Mary’s
  • Michael McGee, CEO, Miller Canfield
  • Joel Rahn, Regional President, Chemical Bank
  • Ben Swayze, Township Manager, Cascade Charter Township (suburban representative, one-year term)
  • Renee Tabben, Market Executive, Merrill Lynch / Market President, Bank of America
  • Chris Williams, President and CEO, Medbio, Inc (representing The Right Place/MMTC-West Manufacturers Council, two-year term)

Retiring from the board of directors

  • Aron Sousa, M.D., Interim Dean, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine
  • Rob Spohr, Vice President of Student & Academic Affairs, Montcalm Community College (Representing Montcalm Economic Alliance)
  • Cameron Van Wyngarden, Superintendent/Manager, Plainfield Charter Township (suburban representative, one-year term)