[Skip to Content]

The Right Place

Staff of The Right Place, Inc.

Leadership

  • Photo of Birgit Klohs

    Birgit Klohs

    President & CEO

    616-771-0324 klohsb@rightplace.org

    Birgit provides strategic direction for The Right Place. She also provides location and expansion assistance to Kent County and international clients. She is responsible for marketing Greater Grand Rapids to an international audience.

    Download full bio
  • Photo of Twayne Howard

    Twayne Howard

    Chief Operating Officer/Assistant Treasurer

    616-771-0312 howardt@rightplace.org

    Twayne oversees all operational functions at the Right Place including financial activities and reporting, human resources, information technology, and contract management.

  • Photo of Cindy Brown

    Cindy Brown

    Vice President, Talent Initiatives & Executive Director, Hello West Michigan

    616.818.9080 brownc@hellowestmichigan.com

    Cindy leads Hello West Michigan and its efforts to attract top talent to the region. Along with overseeing the strategic direction and collaborations of the organization, she handles the Hello West Michigan weekly resume pack program, personally helping hundreds of candidates find employment in West Michigan.

    Download full bio
  • Photo of Justine Burdette

    Justine Burdette

    Vice President, Technical Services, MMTC-West Regional Director

    616-771-0304 burdettej@rightplace.org

    Justine provides business leadership for The Right Place and MMTC-West.

  • Photo of Brad Comment

    Brad Comment

    Vice President, Investor Relations

    616-771-0560 bcomment@rightplace.org

    Brad develops the fundraising strategy to sustain The Right Place and provide assets for future investment. He oversees all fund raising activities with our grantors, investors, customers, and the West Michigan business community.

  • Photo of Natalia Kovicak

    Natalia Kovicak

    Vice President, Conferences and Events

    616-771-0327 kovicakn@rightplace.org

    Natalia develops, promotes and implements regional events for The Right Place and MMTC-West.

  • Photo of Tim Mroz

    Tim Mroz

    Vice President, Marketing and Communications

    616-301-6791 mrozt@rightplace.org

    Tim provides overall leadership and direction for all Right Place communication strategies and plans, including public relations, marketing and advertising.

  • Photo of Therese Thill

    Therese Thill

    Vice President, Business Development

    616-771-0571 thillt@rightplace.org

    Therese provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients. She also works with site selection consultants. Therese provides site location assistance to national and international firms across all industries.

Business Development

  • Photo of Eric Icard

    Eric Icard

    Senior Business Development Manager

    616-771-0556 icarde@rightplace.org

    Eric provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients. He provides site location assistance to national and international life sciences firms. He also serves as the facilitator for the West Michigan Medical Device Consortium.

  • Photo of Thad Rieder

    Thad Rieder

    Senior Business Development Manager

    616-301-6245 riedert@rightplace.org

    Thad provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients. He provides site location assistance to national and international food processing companies.

  • Photo of Jennifer Wangler

    Jennifer Wangler

    Business Development Manager

    616-901-9343 wanglerj@rightplace.org

    Jennifer provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients in Kent County.

  • Photo of Dave Riley

    Dave Riley

    Business Intelligence & Research Manager

    616-771-0343 rileyd@rightplace.org

    Dave provides custom research services and community economic statistics to Right Place clients.

  • Photo of Morgan Carroll

    Morgan Carroll

    Business Develoment Coordinator, Ionia County

    231-286-9497 carrollm@rightplace.org

    Morgan provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients in Ionia County.

  • Photo of Mark Guzniczak

    Mark Guzniczak

    Business Development Coordinator - Newaygo County

    847-687-0192 Guzniczakm@rightplace.org

    Mark provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients in Newaygo County.

  • Photo of Kathy Jo Vanderlaan

    Kathy Jo Vanderlaan

    Business Development Coordinator - Montcalm

    616-498-0374 vanderlaank@rightplace.org

    Kathy Jo provides retention and expansion assistance to Right Place clients in Montcalm County.

  • Photo of Ellie Montanino

    Ellie Montanino

    Business Development Assistant

    616.771.0576 MontaninoE@rightplace.org

    Ellie provides adminstrative support to The Right Place's Vice President of Business Development, as well as the Business Development team. 

Marketing & Communications

  • Photo of Andria Romkema

    Andria Romkema

    Digital Marketing Manager

    616-771-0563 romkemaa@rightplace.org

    Andria manages digital marketing for The Right Place including social media, web development, and email campaigns.

  • Photo of Eric Heys

    Eric Heys

    Marketing Coordinator

    616-771-0555 heyse@rightplace.org

    Eric provides graphic design and layout support for Right Place marketing materials and content.

MMTC-West

  • Photo of Jess Cruz

    Jess Cruz

    MMTC-West Senior Business Development Manager

    616-301-7171 cruzj@rightplace.org

    Jess is responsible for working with small manufacturers in West Michigan to help them assess their opportunities for continuous improvement and growth.

  • Photo of Ben Wood

    Ben Wood

    MMTC-West Business Development Specialist

    616-771-0557 woodb@rightplace.org

    Ben is responsible for working with small manufacturers in West Michigan to help them assess their opportunities for continuous improvement and growth.

Hello West Michigan

  • Photo of Rachel Bartels

    Rachel Bartels

    Program Manager

    616.771.0354 bartelsr@hellowestmichigan.com

    Rachel handles the marketing, communication, and event planning for Hello West Michigan, including their out-bound marketing campaign to top talent across the country.

Administration

  • Photo of Maulin Pont-McClelland

    Maulin Pont-McClelland

    Assistant to the President

    (616) 301-9393 pontm@rightplace.org

    Maulin provides administrative support to the office of the president, and supports all communication to Right Place board members and investors.

  • Photo of Jackie Beering

    Jackie Beering

    Accounting Clerk

    616-301-8700 beeringj@rigthplace.org

    Jackie provides accounting support as well as oversight of all project tracking, collections and records management. She is responsible for processing accounts payable and accounts receivable transactions.

  • Photo of Lorraine Brügger

    Lorraine Brügger

    Office Administrator

    616-771-0325 bruggerl@rightplace.org

    Lorraine provides general office management and support services to the entire organization, including accounting and fundraising administrative support.

  • Photo of Kelly Hansen

    Kelly Hansen

    Office Administrator

    616-771-0325 hansenk@rightplace.org

    Kelly provides general office management and support services to the entire organization, including accounting and fundraising administrative support.